Sunday, January 30, 2011

The Truth About Relationships

People fight. It's inevitable. No matter how much you complain to your friends or want to kick a person in the peanuts, you'll soon come to realize that if you have someone who's willing to work with you, even when you're both irrational, you have found unconditional love. Don't settle for any less than the best and when you do find that special someone make sure that they are willing to accept you....all of you...even that deep dark angry side and vice versa. Love is not one-sided.



P.s. Violence is wrong no matter what. That is not the best and don't accept it, ever. A person not willing to respect your body doesn't deserve you.



People cheat. Someone who repeat cheats is better left single. This doesn't mean people don't change, they can. However, if they're not willing to learn from their mistake and change, they don't deserve your love. A mistake is a mistake, but a habit is, and probably always will be, a habit.



People judge. Hey, it's what we do inherently. Sometimes we can do the very thing we are judging and not realize it. We are all hypocrites to our own degree. It doesn't make us bad people, it means we haven't fully learned about ourselves or to accept others. Do find those people in your life that accept you and love you. Maybe people judge, but true friends and true lovers can learn to look past their ideals and opinions to try to understand you. To be able to understand and interact with another person is what can make or break a relationship.



People love. Whether it be a family member, a friend or a significant other. We all love. Some we love unconditionally and some we can only take so far.True, it's better to break the ties that hurt you, but it doesn't mean you have to stop caring. At some point in our lives we will lose someone we love to miscommunication, passage of time, betrayal and even neglect. This doesn't mean it won't hurt. Losing someone hurts, but some love isn't meant to last forever. The most aspect of love is to love yourself and surround yourself by people who you can love and they can reciprocate.



Most important of all, do find that person that calls you their shining star. Find that man (or woman) who makes you feel like everything in the world is beautiful. That doesn't mean you're going to have a perfect love because no love is perfect. People do fight and judge - though they should never cheat because that's not love if you're always looking for an escape. If you can both work for each other and put in to the relationship equally, then it is a true blessing. True love is the kind that will last not because it is filled with perfection - perfect relationships usually mean that one person is hiding because no one can agree 100% of the time. True love is the type of love that will stay present, stay focused and stay trying to learn and adapt to you. It is the kind of love that wants to be with you through thick and thin. The love that shouts at you at the top of their lungs and that you shout at the top of your lungs, but end in compromise or try to understand. It is the love that will hold you at night because they want you to be safe and they want to be by your side. It's the love that wants you to be a better person and that you want to make a better person. It is the love that will hold your hand, even when you tell them you are confused. So, don't settle for any less than the best...but don't think that love is perfect...because it's not. It is the imperfection that makes the relationship stronger and helps us understand each other. It is the imperfection that makes us realize we are right (or wrong) for each other - whether it be a friend or lover).



I dedicate this to the one that made me realize all this.... :)

Sunday, January 2, 2011

Laziest Law Student In the World

I've come to the conclusion that I am the laziest law student in the world. No, really. I've been thinking about the time and effort I put into my schoolwork and it's quite pitiful compared to all the people that slave away reading book after book of information. I suppose it's because I'm so attached to socializing that I've decided having a balance of everything is better than focusing on one straight shot.
Haha - these are the shots I focus on:



I'm kidding. Seriously though, I know I'm going to be an amazing attorney one day, whether or not I am #1 in my class or unknown. It goes along with my philosophy of never checking my class ranking - if it's good, I'm just going to become lazier and if it's bad I'll only get worked up about it. The only reason I know I'm doing well is because I got a letter from Law Review - apparently that's supposed to be a good thing..

That's pretty much my rant for the day about law school. Aside from having to deal with legal questions - I think I should start answering simple ones...though...I should have a disclaimer, shouldn't I?

It's just that here's a thing few people know about:

1. Attorney-Client Privilege: When a person (client) speaks to an attorney about any legal matter (legal advice), it is privileged (ONLY) between those two people. So, you really shouldn't have anyone else in the room when you're talking to your attorney about private information. Even if it's your mommy.

2. Law students really don't know much about the law. Sure, they memorize a bunch of stuff...but you shouldn't ask your law student friends about things because they most likely won't know the practical answer. They can't really help you unless they've had experience. And if you're in law school - I'm sure I shouldn't have to tell you this because you already know - don't give legal advice without explaining that you have limited knowledge. You could get in trouble.

3. New Laws in your State - I'm only naming the important ones:

- Driving Under the Influence (AB 1601/Hill) Effective in January 1, 2012, this bill authorizes a court to order a 10-year revocation of the driver license of a person convicted of a third or subsequent DUI violation, with possible reinstatement after five years if specified conditions are met. (You shouldn't be drinking and driving anyway!! It puts other people and yourself in danger!)

- In Los Angeles County, plastic bags are being taken away from some areas' grocery stores. You'll either have to pay 10 cents per bag or go to the grocery store with a reusable bag. However, on a health issue note - if you buy meats, make sure you wash your bags because deadly little bacteria will lurk and pounce on your otherwise healthy immune system (though you should be washing anyway - it's gross).


- Trans-fats are illegal in your local pastries! Damn! I guess that means no more pan dulce for me!

- Terminally-ill inmates will be released on doctor's note, regardless of what their crime is. I don't think I like this very much, but if people are so frail they can't get up, maybe they won't really be a problem anyway. Perhaps it's nature's way of weeding out the bad people.

- Blue Alerts on those freeway signs means an officer was shot and the suspect is still out there somewhere.

- It'll be a misdemeanor to impersonate someone on the Internet if the intention is to deceive or injure another person. DON'T USE SOMEONE ELSE'S IDENTITY!!! The internet is the future, so you can't hide behind it anymore.

- Online traffic school will now be regulated by some division of the DMV. It means it'll be harder to pass - boo!

- For you pot-smokers without a card: having an ounce of marijuana is no longer a huge misdemeanor. It's an infraction. But, if you plan on using that brain of yours, you shouldn't be a pot head anyway. It affects your hippocampus negatively and makes your memory less-effective. If you're an idiot anyway...do what you want...and come to me when you get in trouble! Just kidding, I'm sure you're not that much of an idiot. Haha. :)

Most of this stuff you can figure out if you watch the 10 o'clock news. But in case you don't...now you know.



This is the stuff that matters to me.....

- Lady Gaga's new single will debut Feb. 13. Her new album - Born This Way - will be out some time in May 2011. Whoot whoot!!

- Priceless by Nicole Richie was out September 28. It's on sale at Barnes and Noble right now. Though her books are not exactly intellectually stimulating. they are quite entertaining and filled with drama. Read it if you hate looking in the dictionary and want an easy read.

- My beautiful friend J, has launched her own website. She has pretty cool taste in music (I'm too random to help you all out). You should check it out: JaniceLlamoca.com

- She & Him have some out with a version of "I Put a Spell on You" and it is available for digital download.

- Donkey Kong came out for the Nintendo Wii Last Year and it is A-Mazing!

INTERESTING STUFF

Lake Superior University (where is that anyway?!) came out with a list of banned words thanks to our generation. Ha:

1. Viral (Should we say Trojan now? I'm referring to the internet virus...but really...you could use it referencing to how they prevent STDs).
2. Epic
3. Fail (I guess we can't say "epic fail" anymore! Poor Katy Perry)
4. Wow Factor (I've never used that...)
5. BFF (Whatever, that was so 5 years ago. Everyone knows we say "besties" now)
6. Man up
7. Live Life to the Fullest (I just want to point out that's a phrase, not a word. Good job University of Lake Superior. What a epic fail!! HAHAHAHA... I think "Live it Up" sounds better anyway!)

RANDOM THOUGHT OF THE DAY:

I turn 24 this year and now I feel old (though since going to graduate school I feel young because I've realized most people take time off in between). Anyway...my thought is:

As long as we have our good friends and anti-aging cream, who cares how old we are as long as we have fun! :)

Besides, as I told my friend who turns 24 tomorrow (he told me he feels like he should be more mature and responsible at this age): Look at all the oldies we go to school with and how immature THEY are. We're too young to be mature!

Mind you, because I don't want to offend anyone, we think 25 is old...but next year we'll think 26 is old and so on and so on... :)

The End.


P.S.
Happy New Year!! :)