"You know... I never thought that I would have an urge to clean."
My mom couldn't stop laughing.
For those of you that know me, friends, family, people I used to live with, boys I used to date, I am one of the messiest girls in the world. By no means am I dirty - I would never leave my sheets unwashed passed their 2 weeks - but sometimes, you might find clothes, books, papers and a number of annoying items on my floor. In fact, I remember one boy I dated when I was twenty-one would jump in the back seat of my car, not to wait for me, but to clean my car. He would look at me and say, "why do you do this? why?" I used to call him tiger and he used to call me choo choo. We're not friends, but we do call each other every blue moon to see how the other is doing. He's happy with his child and wife and white picket fence. But, he always tells me how proud he is and how I deserve the best in the world because I'm smart and beautiful (I like to throw in compliments I've received in life when I'm feeling down about the bar exam).
Flashback
I was sitting in my car outside Tiger's house. We were debating whether we should try to sneak into a bar, because we weren't quite able to make it in to one yet, or whether we should go inside and watch movies. Tiger kept looking around my car, rolling his eyes. I was laughing because I thought it was funny he couldn't stand the papers and clothes in my car.
"Seriously, Nor. How do you get all this in here?"
"I don't have time to clean! I'm in college."
"But, you have time to drink..."
"Priorities."
We opted for sitting in the car, chatting. Tiger was making fun of me for some dumb-fuck comment I made, as I often make silly comments. Chicka likes to say that it is because I spend all my common sense on being smart. "You're so slow, Nor." Tiger was saying.
"No! I am not slow! I'm fast!"
"You're fast?"
"Yes! Fast like a traaaaaaaaain!!!!"
Tiger laughed for a couple minutes. "You're a chooo choooooo."
"Shut the fuck up."
"Chooo choooo."
"I hate you."
And thus, I became known as choo choo train. He was always Tiger because he used to do this little growl when he was bored. The summer of my twenty-first year was one of the best summers of my life. I was constantly focused on my well-being and always surrounded by great company. I think every day should be like that. In fact, I'm making sure of it now.
The All Nighter
I am currently awake at 5:00 a.m. in the morning, which is quite a feat for me. That's not entirely true - sometimes, when I can force myself to wake up this early I will go to bootcamp. You see, on Thursday I had this massive amount of Discovery due. In lawyer-talk, Discovery is this monstrosity of paperwork plaintiff attorney's hate and defense attorney's love. When you get in a car accident because someone hit you, your lawyer has to deal with you, the other person's insurance company and literally, hundreds of papers. Papa always says it's because defense attorneys (the lawyer's for the insurance company) get paid by the hour, so they love to generate work. The bad part? It means that newbies like me have to sit in front of a computer while trying to finish a motion and eighty pages of discovery.
Granted, while all this was going on one of my best friends, Sammy, was sitting with my mother finishing her invitation for her baby shower.
I even invited two of my other friends over so that we could all sit together. I've heard from someone very important in my life that there are five love languages. She informed me that I should explore my own and, I've discovered, I like quality time. Yes, I have a therapist. It's to keep me in-tune when I'm stressed out. For example, having a panic attack in the middle of the road because you've realized the bar exam is 14 days away is probably not a good thing.
So, we sat in my kitchen having a grand old time, when I realized how lucky I've been in life.
I went to sleep last night at 8:30pm because I spent the day finishing my motion, driving to court to file my motion, driving a client home and eating dinner with Sammy. Sammy is one of the people that's been there for me through it all. She's gone to every single graduation I've had: High School, College, Law School. I wouldn't trade her for the world.
Lately, I've been spending quiet evenings at home with people. My good friend who has no nickname yet, but I'm going to call her Tapatio because she convinced me to eat a bag with her the other day, and I spend Halloween night watching Hannibal.
We were also eating cheese and crackers because I have a slight obsession with cheese and crackers.
Life Choices
This morning I woke up to a slew of text messages. But, one in particular got me thinking...
When people pursue an education, they put other things on the boiler plate. My friend who text me last night is a great guy who has traveled the world - he puts me to shame - and has his priorities set. Lately, he's been studying for his CPA exams.It's what many people with long-term career goals have done. We put our education first and figure everything else will follow through - and I love it!
I may not have been out partying and drinking last night, but I just helped a person from mistreatment by law enforcement (not to say that there aren't people who actually deserve to be punished.) There's the right way of law and a wrong way. Impinging on a person's rights is the WRONG way. I'd rather have spent Friday morning at 4 am finishing a motion to dismiss my client's case, leading to my early 8am night on Friday, then drinking the night away!!
This doesn't mean that when people have kids young they're going to fail. I look at my friend Sammy and am so proud to have her in my life. She is a smart girl, who happened to have a child at a young age. She and her fiancé are having a cute little girl soon - thus the baby shower. But, she works hard for herself and her children. I've seen this woman go through school while being one of the youngest supervisors at her job. She's absolutely organized and she manages to stay fashionable, even with her baby bump.
This doesn't mean people who don't go to college fail. My cousin Chicka is a very intelligent girl, though she will deny it. However, her dream is to be a comedian and she has been doing an amazing job. In fact, she has shows all over the place. I know, right? A female comedian who is actually funny?! She is wise beyond her years. I often, as you know, seek advise from her. Chicka is my role model. She has a chiq town house in Hollywood and I'm always jealous of her Miami vacations. Plus, she has a great tan.
My other cousin, Mo, is also a successful young woman whom didn't graduate from college. She and her husband have the cutest place in Diamond Bar - I'm starting to get jealous because I still live at home with my parents. She's healthy, happy and beautiful. This woman literally runs all BLANKS (I'm keeping her work life private) in Southern California. All I can say is that she's financial negotiator who wheels and deals for her clients.
I suppose what I've come to realize is that there are two classes of people: classy people and trashy people. The classy people are the ones who will succeed in life no matter what they do because they are driven, have goals and make smart choices. The trashy people are the ones that wander through life in a sea of confusion because they'd rather choose drugs, crime or choose a man over their children/self-dignity/education. They make excuses because things are too "hard." Excuses like, "we can't all have money like you," "we all aren't as smart as you," "we all can't win scholarships like you," "I know she's with him, but she totally wants me" or "I know he loves me even though he keeps saying he loves another girl."
Being educated is a choice. Choosing your self-dignity is a choice. Giving someone else power over you is a choice. Giving yourself the power to do what you want and need is a choice. Choosing one path over another is a choice. I have close friends who have struggled! Two in particular that I can think of that grew up in high-risk areas went to college with me, not because they're Mexican and it was handed to them, but because they deserved it. These two people worked their asses off because they knew that an education would give them more paths to take. It's what my dad has taught me my whole life (education is the key to success.) One of my friends is a top-notch college counselor and the other is pursing her masters in education after spending two amazing years teaching in Korea.
Smart choices.
I put my education first, and I wouldn't give it up for the world. We'll see in two weeks if it paid off.





